TurnipTimes.com

What Is Your Worst Quality?

7 Comments

By: Joan Gross

My worst quality is that I refuse to recognize that I have a worst quality. Looking at myself through rose colored glasses has taken a lifetime of discipline.  For at least sixty years, I always compared myself to others and found myself sadly lacking. Everyone else was prettier (who cares?), everyone else was smarter (who knows?), and everyone else was more charming (who was the judge?)

One day a Jewish philosopher changed my life. He said that when someone sees a bad quality in you, they recognize it only because they own that very same attribute. So, if someone accuses you of being a procrastinator, or pompous or worse, a prevaricator, you might want to run for them thar hills. After all, when they point their accusatory, menacing forefinger at you and it hovers somewhere between your nose and your mouth, and you’re tempted to take a juicy bite out of it, three fingers are pointing back at them. They harbor at least three times that obnoxious quality.

Recognizing bad qualities in myself was like tying an elephant around my waist. My “bad qualities” loomed so large that I was defeated before I ever got off the ground.

If someone else was prettier, how would I find the right husband? If someone else was more charming and smarter, how would I get ahead in business? When I decided that I was just as pretty as anyone else (after garnering four husbands that were not right for me), I found the fifth. Since I think I am pretty, he also thinks I am pretty. Positive thinking is a miraculous quality.

Deciding I was just as charming, or even more, just as smart, at the very least, new avenues of thought have flashed through my brain and I feel capable of, and have accomplished, more in business than I ever dreamed.

Bad qualities you want to discuss? Not me. I have decided to see only good in me and in you too.

 

Author: Turnip Times

Sometimes the truth is funny and sometimes sad. But the truth is always the truth.

7 thoughts on “What Is Your Worst Quality?

  1. Just a quick note – that blog post is freaky – it’s ME! My confidence has never been high for a lot of reasons and, only today, I told someone I was jealous because she was so much prettier than me. I just wanted to let you know that I liked your take on it. 🙂 Thanks for posting.

  2. Nice article. It is true that the bad things we see in others are typically our areas of deficiency as well. The key is seeing the good in people. When you do that they usually rise to the occasion.

  3. Ha. You’re right, positive reinforcement. If you believe it eventually it will become part of you and in turn every else will see it. The struggle, for me at least, is continuing to believe in yourself. You need to do this because of and despite all the insecurities.

  4. Insecurities and fear about them are some of the most powerful things that hold us back. Of course, we all have something about ourselves that we wish we could improve on, but having confidence in the person you are and being able to know you are who you are is vital in living a happy life. Thanks for posting this, I love hearing others opinions on this kind of subject.

  5. Self-criticism. That’s the one that gets me! I try my hardest to sail forward. Maybe I’ll find a little pillow to hide my self-critic underneath while I go about doing good stuff.

  6. Boy does this resonate with me. I am the one that finds fault to often with myself and it as you said, like “tying an elephant around my waist”.

    I do understand that when one finds fault with another that they really possess that very same fault. I find that somewhat comforting, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

